Effective Business Communication Part 1

“ Success has a great tendency to conceal and throw a veil over the evil of men. ”

— Demosthenes

I was on Forbes Magazine website and that was there thought for the day and it made me think a little bit…

I was also reading some other stuff and I thought it would be a great idea to share some points that I too need to employ in making sure that the business is successful in all its endeavors. So here goes some what are defined as secrets of effective business communication that I think should not be so secret… *smile*

The ability to communicate, and communicate well, is one of the biggest factors in business success. You could be an excellent designer, but if you’re unable to promote your services and communicate effectively with clients and colleagues, your potential is limited. The principal areas where communication is essential include:

  • Pitching potential clients,
  • Client meetings,
  • Customer service,
  • Face-to-face networking,
  • Marketing your business

and I guess I will use the days to come and develop my thoughts on each of the above in a more fulsome way before posting, but here goes the first;

Pitching Potential Clients

When you freelance or own a business, your livelihood depends on your ability to sell your services. You need to be able to convince prospects that you are the best person for the job. What you need to do to achieve this:

1. Ask the Right Questions

Part of selling your services is being able to understand the client’s unique needs. You can do this only by asking questions that get to the heart of the challenges they are facing. Once you have a clear understanding of the problem that the client needs to solve, you can pitch your services as the best possible option for the client, outlining how you will meet their needs.

For example, when I am contacted by a prospective client, I have them fill out a event and catering requirements document that poses various questions to help me better understand what they are looking for from their event. Some of the questions I ask are:

  • What is the budget for your event.
  • How many persons are you having at the evnt?
  • What menu options do you have in mind ( what kind of service viz buffet etc.)
  • Will alcoholic beverages be served?
  • What is the timeline for the project?

2. Communicate Professionally

Your professionalism can win you contracts, and your communication skills add to the complete package. Take time to proofread all emails prior to sending; use a business email address with a proper signature; answer the phone professionally; and speak articulately and competently at all times.

While my email signature has evolved over time, below is the general format I follow, which has worked well for

Name

Company | Website
Email | Phone number

More anon

Leave a comment